Mandatory Continuing Education Courses
|South Carolina requires 8 hours of continuing
education every 2 years.
At least 2 hours must be a core course, remaining 6 hours can be elective or core.
Tuition for the 4-hour CORE course below is $60. Tuition for the 4-hour ELECTIVE course below is $60.
Tuition for each 4-hour
course below is $60.00; $100 if two are taken in the same day.
This includes all materials.
Tuition for each 6-hour ELECTIVE course below is $80.00; this includes all materials.
Tuition for BOTH the 4-hour CORE and the 4-hour ELECTIVE is $100.
Click to see schedule of dates and times
for MCE (Continuing Ed Courses).
Additional Elective Options:
Agency and Property Disclosure
Six (6) hour elective course PL 1
This class is based on South Carolina Agency Law. We will also examine the Acknowledgement of Agency Disclosure form and the Disclosure and Consent to Dual Agency form. During the class, the participants will have several opportunities to role-play practicing agency disclosure. You will gain the practical understanding which will serve as the foundation required to build skill and confidence into your agency disclosure presentations. The class covers what the licensee needs to know about the Lead-based Paint Rules on residences built before 1978 and the South Carolina Seller's Residential Property Disclosure requirements.
Real Estate Contracts
Six (6) hour elective course PL 2
This course is for the novice and the seasoned agent. Changes in the law deal with offers, counteroffers and other related subjects. Those who don't know what it now requires may be breaking the law with every transaction. New agents will learn how to connect textbook theory to professional practice with the connecting bonds of group discussions, questions and role-play. Everyone should leave this course with a new perspective on the benefits of a well-written contract. There will be role-playing exercises involving writing offers, counteroffers, purchase and sale agreements, Buyer's Representation Agreements, and Listing Contracts. Students should leave this course with confidence in the ability to work with these everyday documents.
Investment and Taxation
Six (6) hour elective course PL 5
This course is a must for anyone seeking to learn how to analyze real estate investments and apply the techniques of balancing equities of property for a tax deferred exchange. Additionally, there will be class exercises to learn how to calculate adjusted basis and the return on equity analysis may prove to be valuable when working with investor clients. For the novice, this course will help you to be more professional in your work .
|Ethics and Real Estate
Six (6) hour elective course PL 3
In South Carolina, real estate schools are required to include ethics as a separate course. This is not the REALTORS® Code of Ethics. Instead, our objective for this course at Wyatt Institute is to take a look at the processes required to make fair and honest decisions in real world situations that we see everyday. Enrollment in and completion of this course will not only meet the requirements of the Real Estate Commission, it will also help you be a more ethically reasoning thinker.
Measurement and Valuation
Six (6) hour elective course PL 4
This course is a must for anyone seeking to learn how to measure a building, apply the techniques of identifying the utility of property and learning how to do a well thought out Competitive Marketing Analysis. From novice to those with experience, this course will help you to be more professional in your work.
SC Real Estate Commission has approved these mandatory MCE courses.
During class, cell phones and pagers must be turned off – not left on silent or vibrate.
Tape-recording any of our courses is NOT permitted. Use of computers in the classroom is not allowed in this course.
No unrelated reading materials, computer games, etc. are allowed during class.
These courses are open, without discrimination, to any SC real estate licensee.
Returned checks—There will be a $35 charge if your check is returned from the bank for any reason.
If you must leave class early after starting a class, you will not receive a refund. You may transfer to another class being held within the next two months by immediately notifying Wyatt Institute in writing.
If you are more than fifteen (15) minutes late, there is no reason to attend. We are not allowed to give partial credit. If you see you are going to be late, give us a call. You may transfer to the next regularly scheduled class.
Refunds—If you can’t attend a course for which you have registered but do give telephone or fax notice before the class starts, or if the course is canceled for any reason, you may transfer to another course or get a refund of your tuition. If you do not let us know you are not coming, neither a transfer nor refund is available.